Stuffed Peppers

Convenience is always key when it comes to cooking. Especially during the winter weather, I tend to have longer days and just want something quick and easy when it’s time to grub. I decided, since I have been not myself lately; trying Paleo for a bit,. Thank goodness my roomie tagged along with me because it’s been hard to beat these period cravings. Of course, when I decide to make a healthy choice for my body, it rewards me with cravings out of the wazoo!!

THANKS JESS! Roomies who Paleo together, stay together (;

Right now, I love stuffed peppers. They’re honestly the perfect snack or meal for anyone! Prepping time is not too long and you can save them for leftovers as well.

It’s mucho Bueno.

Ingredients:

Brown rice (is acceptable for Paleo, but I am watching my intake.)
Ground Turkey
Garbanzo beans (acceptable as well)
Pepper(s)
Ground pepper
Nutritional Yeast
Preheat oven at 350-400 degrees F. Depending on what elevation you’re at.

Rice is always my first thing to cook since it take the longest. In my rice cooker, depending on how many mouths you are feeding, I usually do 1 cup rice 2 cups water.

I then try to slice only the peppers, not my fingers during this time. Cut off the tops ever so slowly and then puncture the stem out so you can have a little topper for your meal. (food is art). Once those are cut and stripped down, pop however many peppers are needed into broiling water for a good 5-7 minutes.

Then, if you’d rather not eat raw meat and to avoid food illnesses cook that Turkey right up in a flat skillet. Once, that’s nice and brown, warm up the G-beans by popping those in with the meat as well.

Then, after those 7 minutes your peppers will be wobble baby wobblin, put those on a cooking tray. (side note: if you want to avoid washing the whole kitchen, add aluminium to your tray. Peppers will cook just fine.)

Ding! Your rice is donezo. Once thats finished, I combine the beans and Turkey into the rice bowl. Less dishes used, less washing.

Now you are ready to stuff those babies up like it’s Thanksgiving all over again.

Stuff stuff stuff, and pop those in your oven for a good 7 minutes.. or 10, depending on how cooked you’d like your pepper tops and it’s just to warm everything up to the same temp.

SET THAT TIMER, unless charcoal is your favourite taste.

Top it off with Nutritional Yeast and ENJOY!

 

Merry Holidays and Happy Christmas,

S

Leave a Reply

