When In Doubt pt. 1

Do you ever pray with hopes it is answered but you have that sliver of a doubt in your mind that Jesus may just hear it and that’s it? Well you’re not alone! I’ve been there, the next person has been there and it will always be there, the doubt that is. It’s our nature, it’s the problem from being in a broken world crawling with sin.

However, that’s another blog for a different time.

When the Lord works in my life, it always seems to repetitive. Anytime He wants my attention, it’s over and over and over again. But I actually want to talk about the first incident that happened which comes with a part two.

Part one happened during the summer time while tubbing with some friends.

Long story short, my sweet sweet hilarious friend had a waterproof case for her phone which held all her cards wrapped around her neck… You can probably guess what happened next. Nope, well keep reading.

We were tubbing and all of a sudden without realization my friend’s phone case that was tightly wrapped around her neck somehow slipped off her neck when she went under the current. Panic, frustration, anger and concern consumed my friends mind. I could tell by her tone and facial features. Oddly enough, I had no similar feelings. I was cool as a cucumber with some annoyance because we were about to leave at that point. Remind you, we had just our swimsuits on. Everything was locked in her car… Great!!

We all asked for help, searched in the water but by how much time has passed someone said that sucker is gone, probably at the brewery by now. In that moment I decided to pray. It may seem silly, only because we think we need to pray for big things, but actually when in doubt we should pray it out. No matter how big or how small.

I specifically prayed for the phone to be found, not damaged and everything be in place.

We decided to walk back up to our spot where we first lost it. By this time, majority of the crowd around knew we were on a hunt, to find a hit a hot pink case, you couldn’t even miss from a mile away. As we walked up and looked around, a big group of rowdy boys came flying down the river and went under where we went under as well…. One guy came up and screamed “IS THIS WHAT YOU’RE LOOKING FOR.”

I kid you not. God works in the most craziest, obscured, yet beautiful ways. In that moment, myself and everyone around me couldn’t believe what we were seeing. We swam in that exact area, looked and dove all around in that exact place and found nothing. But it so happened this guy had the string get caught on his ankle and secured it to the surface when he came up from being tossed by the water.

Moments like that really can’t test your faith. In a good way rather than bad, I think. When you come across something that’s so hard to explain and so hard to understand, that’s when you truly know it’s God. Why? He’s unexplainable. We cannot comprehend Him. And it’s also trusting by faith that it was Him and not a coincidence.

Thank you Jesus for your constant provision even when unbelief is well-known. You’re a good good Father. Thank you!!!

2 thoughts on “When In Doubt pt. 1

  1. I’ve had so many moments like that with God, where I need something or lost something and he has it taken care of in advance. I’ve almost gotten to the point where I’ll just listen and hear him say, don’t worry I’ve got it. And I’ll let it be. Emphasis on the almost, not yet though in every circumstance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

