Dress Outside The Box

What defines fashion? What makes fashion?

Google says:

“ a popular or the latest style of clothing, hair, decoration, or behavior. “

I agree with that definition to a certain extent. Yes, fashion is about the latest trends of whatever season or year it may be. However, fashion and style are completely two different things. You could buy the most expensive trendsetting outfit of the season but have no style. I have stumbled upon other bloggers and people who consider themselves “fashion gurus”, they always are up to date with the latest trends and what’s hot but when it comes to styling, you’d think the advice they give would match up to what they say. Side note: We all should take our own advice but we ALL know that’s not always the case.

I’m going to be honest. I don’t keep up with the latest trends; obsess about what is the next hot outfit or style because my definition of fashion is not about what’s hot. Fashion is about being different; it’s about expressing who you are in a creative sense by styling, letting your outfit speak the thousand words you don’t have to say. Why would you need to stay up to trend, wear what every other girl is wearing and look exactly the same? Fashion is about standing out; it’s about being loud and again expressing how you feel. That’s why I love it so much. I never went to fashion school (yet), never went to fashion week (only watched it on my laptop live) never made sure I was up to date with trends or anything between those lines because I didn’t want to look like everyone else for a season. Beforehand, when I wanted to be a designer, I did focus on trends only because that was a must but now since I am more leaning towards the styling side of fashion, I think it’s pointless. If it’s not in, it will either be in come the near future or the others are just behind you.

It’s funny because if you asked me when I was little what I wanted to do, I either choose something that had to do with animals or boy “stuff” because I was a HUGE tom-boy believe it or not. I never had any type of fashion influencer in my life growing up and my fashion sense was HORRIBLE. I’m not kidding. I wore a button up butterfly shirt that my mother made me with one of my dad’s ties to be one of the boys. I honestly only had my brain and that was about it. It’s funny how things work out, hopefully with my incredibly bold passion for fashion, it will become a jobby one day. Aka. Job and hobby.

I love everything about fashion; I don’t think having a job in that specific industry would ever get old. I love helping people feel more confident about what they’re wearing and just styling people in general. It’s constantly changing and it helps my creative side become more creative. Fashion is not about a price tag, it’s not about having the latest designer wear, its about how you put what with what and having a splash of your style twisted all around it.

Be bold. Be loud. Be you. Dress outside the box

xoxo,

BCD

Leave a Reply

