Next purchase; Textbook or Passport?

Yes, this is another article on how college is not always the answer but just bare with me on why I completely agree with that. I cannot tell you how many conversations I’ve had with others about why I decided to go travel after my sophomore year of college, than to finish school in the prominent 4 years of expectation. Hear me out, I thought this was an interruption in my list of to-do’s, when in reality it was the best thing that has happened to me yet. I have many reasons of why I made a detour in my plans but for now I’ll leave you with this:

Classrooms cannot provide culture that will be life changing; it can provide pictures from Google, a $400 dollar textbook with some background knowledge on what you’re learning but you really do not get the full experience that you’ll never forget if you were traveling.

Me, being the visual learner I am, I know I am not alone on that, I need to see things firsthand in order to understand it. College cannot provide that for every degree, nor in a way that some can comprehend it as well. Traveling the world builds your character, especially if you are solo traveling, it provides a lot of street-smart knowledge, memories that will last a life time; experiencing it first hand and learning to figure things out on your own without your roommates help or parents. Yes, college does have its perks; it looks good on a resume and can help you later on for future jobs, depending on what you want to do. However, if you’re going to college because the world says to go or because you don’t know what to do with your life, I’d say take that boredom, work a little bit to save some hard cash and go travel.

  • Traveling won’t put you in debt, college can.
  • Traveling can provide hands on experiences that a classroom cannot.
  • Traveling can expose you to political and cultural world experiences that are raw, your textbook or in-class video cannot do that.
  • Traveling provides a new view of life and how HUGE this world is, a classroom can only provide 2D figures of that.
  • Traveling can change you from the inside out; college makes you gain the lbs.… depending on if you allow that to happen, that is.
  • Traveling helps you get out of your comfort zone, college helps you stay in that bubble.

For the past 4 months of solo traveling, I’ve learned more about this world and what’s going on than I ever did in my past history classes. It has nothing to with the teachers not being able to teach or me not applying myself, I just could not comprehend the educational system that they were using, nor could I understand some teachers methods.

The cost for traveling to point A to point B is as equivalent to about 4 of your textbooks. Your time is precious, you are young, and these are your selfish years. Go do what YOU want to do, not what the world wants you to do, or what your past generations have done.

If you want something bad enough, it will happen.

Do I have days were I think, “ugh, I really actually wish I was in college, getting a degree and living that 4 year college life.” Absolutely, I LOVE learning. I came to conclusion though that with traveling, you have so many perks and when it comes to adult jobs, they more likely will take the person with the experience than the 4.0 GPA. There is nothing wrong with having a 4.0, my hats off to you, I believe that a number should not define your intelligence level, nor should a test. Again, depending on what you want to do in life, yes, it can be helpful just not for everything. You never know who may run into at a café in France or while hiking a mountain in New Zealand, it’s about being in the right place at the right time.

I, too, have failed multiple times and was not the sharpest tool in the shed, on paper that is. however, what I have learned on my own is that, there is a difference from cost and worth and everything is mind over matter. Did I mention I learned those from experiences and movies, not a classroom. Just because a piece of paper cannot provide that truth, it does not mean I won’t advance your company to a higher ranking or be the next biggest designer. You really can do anything you want, it all depends on how bad you want it and when you’re going to apply yourself.

Please remember this though; you’re not dumb if you do not go to college, you just may have different priorities than others around you and that is OK! You may grasp information differently than from your friends and that is ok too. Just know that after their 4 years of college, they wont have the same outlook on life as you will, since you were able to really see what was going on when instead, they saw it on a slide show or the local newspaper.

Thus, everything comes down to a choice and that choice will effect tomorrow and the coming days. Decide what is best for YOU and whatever that may be, make sure it is beneficial for your future. If that is college, great! If that’s traveling, great! Just know that a passport is a whole lot cheaper than those 7 textbooks that you’ll open maybe once during your semester.

Here’s to your selfish years and doing what YOU desire.

xoxo,

BCD

Leave a Reply

