We Fear The Unknown

I have been trying to figure out all week what I should blog about next because I have had zero ideas, until now that is. My friend inspired me to write about something that all us humans struggle with. Fear. We fear the unknown, what is ahead and the consequences that may come with that choice we make.

The word fear itself scares me, I don’t like being scared. Ironically, I like to be uncomfortable but to the point where I am still a little comfortable. I have been in a mindset of fear for quite some time, it’s to the point where I have sleepless nights and most of my thoughts revolve around the word, “what if.” I know I’m not the only one who thinks that word because we all live in the same broken world and all fear some sort of “thing”.

As followers of Christ we are called to fear the Lord in a worthy of manor. We are to fear Him for His glorious ways and the good that comes from Him. Not be scared, worried, annoyed or anxious. He is not an anxious God, which means we too, should not be anxious (Philippians 4:6) since we are called to live a Christ-like life.

Growing up I had this mindset of anything you do you will have consequences good or bad. However, when it is from God himself, it is always good no matter the situation. If you are following your own ways and doing what you want to do, He will provide a way out or make light to ANY situation because He will never leave you nor forsake you (Deuteronomy 31:6). That’s one of the many promises He has made for you and I.

As I began to distance myself from God during my adolescent years, I started to think that any choice I was going to make it, may not be the right one for me or be His will per say, so, something bad will happen and I will suffer because I so selfishly made that particular choice. NO!! In the name of Jesus, that is a lie from the pit of hell. The enemy can and will take a foot when you give an inch but Jesus fulfills ALL of His promises as I said before and He will NEVER EVER make you suffer or leave you. You are a precious gift from the Lord Himself and you have purpose. God is good all the time and all the time He is good.

Another thought has crossed my mind multiple times is, what I will be doing after this adventure, where I’ll be living, what job I’ll have, etc. Of course my immediate thought is panic, fear, worry all the emotions I have because I let the enemy have that foot since trusting the unknown is hard. Having faith for thin air is hard; having faith in something you cannot see is hard but that is why it’s called faith. 

Have faith in the one that is the only real provider, who is the truth, and who is the light. Lining up your desires with the Lord and just trusting that everything will work out is really the only way to trust. You need to be relational with Him, hang out with Him, keep in communication with Him; not when its covenant to you but all the time. In order to truly trust someone you need to know the person, the only way to get to know someone is hanging out with them, asking questions, connecting on a deeper level than surface level. Do it with a gracious learning heart and before you know it you will trust Him with your WHOLE life. It is one step at a time process, you don’t need to have everything together in order to trust Him, just ask for help and the Lord will be there with open loving arms.

xoxo,

BCD

Leave a Reply

